I Run for Chocolate

I am a runner. It’s a part of me that can’t be denied. I want to run. I need to run. There are many reasons that get me out the door. Exercise is a healthy and very necessary part of life. It helps regulate my stress and anger levels tremendously. It helps keep the weight off. It challenges me to push myself to the limit. But when it comes right down to it, the most basic reason I run is that I like the freedom to eat what I want. I don’t like dieting. I love to eat chocolate.

Once you get into running, it’s kind of impossible not to do a race. If you’re currently running, and have never done a race, I highly recommend it. Races give your training focus and motivation. And the excitement on race day is undeniable. Races are hard, but they’re fun. The hard is what makes them good. So, you might be able to imagine my excitement when I found out there was an event that married my two favourite things: running and chocolate.

Yes, chocolate.

The Chocolate Race is held in Port Dalhousie every year at the end of August. You can do a 5K, 10K or 16.1K (10miles) run. And the aid stations provide chocolate, of course! The 5K station has a Fruit & Marshmallow Dipping Station. The 10 mile station has soft-serve ice cream. The post-race station has chocolate milk*, butter croissants with chocolate chunks, truffles and salty chocolate caramels – because “bagels are for non-believers”.

On top of the (chocolate) prizes for the winners, they have prizes for the people who finish last too. All racers get swag – this year it’s armies with the “i run 4 chocolate” logo. I’ve never tried them personally, but I think they’d be great as an extra layer in the winter, and they have a small pocket for carrying media. Plus, they have draws at the end of the race! And man, the stuff is sweet: a chocolate and white diamond heart necklace, a stainless steel heart pendant, and a year’s membership in the chocolate-a-month club.

This is my kind of race.

The only drawback to this event, is that it conflicts with my yearly “girls’ weekend”. If it wasn’t for that, I’d be signing up for this race in a heartbeat. But nothing (NOTHING!) gets in the way of the awesomest weekend with the bestest gal pals a chocolate-lovin’ gal could ever wish for. I look forward to it all year. I wouldn’t miss it for anything.

So, if you’re planning on sitting on the couch this weekend eating bonbons (Um, isn’t that what everyone else does on the weekend? It’s just me?…uh..), why not get your butt to Port Dalhousie for The Chocolate Race? And while you’re at it, eat a chocolate for me, will ya? I’ll be sitting this one out. Because the only thing better than running and chocolate, are good friends.

*Pro Tip: Post race or run, forget the expensive protein drinks from the sports stores. Chocolate milk has a carb-to-protein ratio that makes it the ideal recovery drink to help rebuild and repair muscles.

~Alyssa

This entry was posted in Chocoholics Unite, Chocolate!, Favourites, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Run for Chocolate

  1. Bethany says:

    WOW. Thanks for keeping up such a great blog about chocolate! I am a recent “run-aholic” and have always stopped at nothing to get my hands on chocolate! This race is also right up my alley! I might have to save up and travel for this race, by the looks of it it will be worth it!

  2. Candy says:

    Sounds like a great race, shame I don’t live in Canada. Love the idea of chocolate as a reward for exercise, great incentive.

  3. Mikael says:

    I used to lift weights and i rewarded my self with chocolate without getting fat,i don`t train any more so now i´m just building the size of my stomach instead of muscles.lol.keep on running and you can eat more chocolate!

  4. k says:

    FYI the race for 2012 is April 29th. I was thinking about it b/c I missed it last August and wanted to see the 2012 date and now it is in April. Maybe so the chocolate doesn’t melt or get warm. Great date since my birthday is that same week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

